Strava 2015

So 2015 has ended, 2016 has just started and I scratch my head wondering what I’ve actually done with those previous 365 days. I won’t think about it for too long as I’ve got 365 new days to plan. This is the year that I’m planning to take the Alpinestars to the Alps for a little challenge – more on this at a later date.

In the meantime, the lovely people at Strava gave their members the opportunity to put their cycling achievements for 2015 into a cool little video.

Here’s mine.

Now as you’ll see, there’s nothing groundbreaking in here. I’m just an average cyclist who potters about on their bike in the evenings and at weekends. I like to use Strava just to clock up a few miles and have a record of what I’ve done, where and when. I didn’t for the life of me realise that there were so many ways to cheat though! I came across an article that helpfully describes several ways to make you look better than you really are. They include things like:

  • Missing out steep hills – if you want your average ride speed to stay at a decent figure, then don’t go uphill
  • Driving to a flat bit – get in your car and take your bike to a nice flat road / trail so that you can increase that average speed even more
  • Throw it – if you do find yourself slogging up a steep hill and pretty much rolling backwards, launch your Garmin / phone up the hill in front of you as far as you can. Sure fire way to become King of the Mountain

If you want the full cheat sheet then check out this Cycling Weekly article.

I’m not sure how long the Strava 2015 link will be live for, but if you want to give it a try you’ll find it here.

Leave a Reply

